American Samoa

Basic facts

Population: 55,170 (2013 estimate) Land area: 200 km² Exclusive economic zone: 404,391 km²

Listing as a Non-Self-Governing Territory

American Samoa has been on the United Nations list of Non-Self-Governing Territories since 1946, following the transmission of information by the United States of America under Article 73 *e* of the Charter of the United Nations.

See: General Assembly resolution 66 (I) of 14 December 1946

Administering Power

United States of America

United Nations-related action

The General Assembly adopts on an annual basis a resolution with a section specifically devoted to American Samoa. *See:* General Assembly resolution 69/105 A-B of 5 December 2014

Most recent United Nations Secretariat annual Working Paper on American Samoa: A/AC.109/2015/12

Links

Government of American Samoa (link not available)

Office of Insular Affairs of the Department of Interior of the United States of America